Confessions from Vacation

31 Jul

Eighteen. That is how many consecutive days I blogged after my July 1 New Year’s Resolution entry where I resolved to blog daily. So like the dieter who is cheating before the end of week one in January, I feel a little defeated and discouraged. Eighteen entries isn’t much of a streak. There has been plenty going on at LMU to keep up daily posting, so what is my excuse?

Well, truth-be-told, I have been on vacation for the past two weeks. I was very apprehensive in taking that much time at once, but the stars aligned and I was given the blessing to go. It was an opportunity to spend some extended time with my extended family. Before I left for vacation I had grand plans of stock piling 14 blog entries to cover my absence. However, strategic planning and my other duties got in the way of that plan.

 

 When my family and I packed up our car and headed north on I-81 on Saturday, July 14, I moved on to plan B, where I would blog remotely along my travels. The topics would still be LMU related and cover LMU activities, I would just rely on the people here to fill me in on what was going on.

Plan B chugged right along with me diligently blogging every evening or at least drafting an entry every night. Sometimes the actual posting was delayed, but I managed to post five entries before I ran out of steam. Or more accurately, totally lose myself in vacation mode.  My colleague, Director of Marketing and PR for Health Sciences. Amy Drittler told me to give it up and let go and for once, I listened. I spent the remaining half a week at the beach doing beach things and not worrying about this blog. Then I spent another week in my hometown doing hometown things and once again not blogging. It was refreshing not to be tethered to a computer and now I’m back, refreshed and ready for everything that lies ahead as the 2012-13 school year gets underway.

As for my resolutions, I may not have stuck to the blog-a-day resolution, but I had also resolved to find the fun in the everyday and there was certainly lots of fun on my vacation. There is never a dull moment at LMU and plenty happened in my absence. I hope to fill you in on some of the gaps soon!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

